menu

Department of Linguistics

Former students menu

Former students

Barbara Clark

Visiting Researcher
b.l.clark@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Linguistic anthropology; Flight attendants; Institutional discourse; Language, gender, and power; Language ideology.

Sue Fox

Lecturer, University of Bern
s.p.fox@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics; Language variation and change; Dialect contact; Language contact; World Englishes

Catherine Gkritziou

Research - PhD
a.gkritziou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntactic Theory, Long Distance Dependencies (Relative Clauses, Focus Movement, Topicalization, Clitic Left Dislocation, Interrogatives, cleft constructions), Locality and Islands, Resumption, Clause Structure, Greek Syntax, Tense and Aspect

James Hawkey

Lecturer in Spanish Linguistics (Bristol)
james.hawkey@univ-paris3.fr

Ruth Kircher

PhD (2009) | Lecturer, Liverpool Hope University
kircher@hope.ac.uk

Anja Kleemann Kramer

Assistant Professor of Linguistics, University Potsdam

Eva Klingvall

Visiting Scholar (Autumn 2013) | Lund University
e.klingvall@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : syntax and its interfaces

Philippa Law

PhD 2013 | UGC Community Coordinator at The Guardian
p.j.law@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Minority language media, language maintenance, psychology of language, radio, TV and online production practice.

Dimitra Lazaridou-Chatzigoga

Post-doctoral Research Fellow and Research Seminar Organizer
Room : Arts Research Centre Basement | Room B2
d.lazaridou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Semantics (Genericity, Quantification), Pragmatics, Psycholinguistics, Philosophy of language

Sujin Lee

Research - PhD
sujin.lee@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, second language acquisition, language contact, bi-/multilingualism, language ideology, critical discourse analysis

Stephen Levey

Assistant Professor, University of Ottawa
slevey@uOttawa.ca

Hong Liu

Alumni
h.liu@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, Bilingualism, Chinese-English code-switching, contact-induced language change

Angi

Agnieszka Lyons

Lecturer in Applied Linguistics
a.lyons@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Electronically-mediated communication and multimodality in discourse. The discursive representation of physicality in text-messages.

Chiara Marchetti

Research - PhD
c.marchetti@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociolinguistics, sociophonetics, perception, prosody (specifically in Italian), indexicality

Chrystie Myketiak Chrystie Myketiak

Postdoctoral Researcher and Visiting Lecturer
c.myketiak@qmul.ac.uk

Naomi Nagy

Visiting Scholar (Spring 2013) | Assoc. Professor, University of Toronto
naomi.nagy@utoronto.ca

Fangfang Niu

PhD 2015
f.niu@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : The Syntax of possessive relation, Chinese syntax, and Language acquisition

Fryni Panayidou

Teaching Fellow in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17A
+44 (0)20 7882 6637
f.panayidou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntax of adjectives/nominal phrases, contact-induced syntactic change

Maneenun Rhurakvit

PhD Alumni
maneenun@hotmail.com

Research interests : Interlanguage Pragmatics - Linguistic Politeness and Impoliteness - Cross-cultural and Intercultural Communications - Second Language Acquisition - Language Pedagogy

Phaedra Royle

PhD Alumni
phaedra.royle@umontreal.ca

Research interests : Linguistique, Psycholinguistique, Dysphasie, Acquisition, Neurolinguistique

Pavadee Saisuwan

Research - PhD
p.saisuwan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, language, gender and sexuality, third gender, indexicality, Thai language

Maria Secova

Post-doctoral research assistant
m.secova@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, discourse-pragmatics, spoken French and youth language

Tom Stanton

Research - PhD
t.g.stanton@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : The syntax of noun modification, focusing on reduced relative clauses; postnominal modification in English; the relationship between syntax and morphology

Muhammad Usman Ghani

Visiting Student 2009-2010 | Lecturer, Dept. of English, International Islamic Univ. Islamabad
usmaanghani@gmail.com

Astrid Vandendaele

PhD Alumni
Astrid.Vandendaele@UGent.be

Research interests : News media language, ethnography of communication, news production processes, writing studies, journalism

Rachelle Vessey

Lecturer at Newcastle University
r.vessey@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, Canadian studies, nationalism, language ideologies, sociolinguistics

John Weston

PhD Alumni
j.weston@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, Evidential variation and epistemological variation, Indexicality, Philosophy of language, English for Specific Purposes

Lena Zipp

Visiting Scholar (Summer 2013)
Room : Linguistics Research Centre
lena.zipp@es.uzh.ch

Return to top