menu

Department of Linguistics

Research Students menu

PhD students

linguistics postgraduate students 2017-18

We have a vibrant postgraduate research community at QMUL, with over 20 PhD and MRes students. Research interests are broad, with projects spanning syntax, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, corpus linguistics, and more. Below you can find profiles of our current research students and their contact information.

Zoe Adams

Research - PhD
z.k.adams@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, language and persuasion, language attitudes, Multicultural London English, language and ethnicity

Mohammad Alhailawani

Research - PhD
m.alhailawani@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntactic Theory, Ellipsis, Arabic Syntax, DP Syntax

Pietro Baggio linguistics PhD student

Pietro Baggio

Research - PhD
p.baggio@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Formal/comparative syntax and semantics; morphology; syntax of adpositions, DPs, case, and agreement; Finnish syntax.

A picture of PhD student Karen Beaman sitting down in a grassy area

Karen Beaman

Research - PhD
k.v.beaman@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics: language variation and change, identity, dialect contact, Swabian

Elvis Coimbra Gomes linguistics PhD student profile picture

Elvis Coimbra Gomes

Research - PhD
e.coimbragomes@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : corpus linguistics; critical discourse analysis and ethnography; computer-mediated health communication; gender, sexuality and queer studies; mental health

A picture of Songyan Du, Linguistics PhD student

Songyan Du

Research - PhD
s.du@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Multimodal Discourse Analysis, Audiovisual Translation, Subtitle Translation, Film Studies.

A picture of a person from the shoulders up, looking away from the camera and smiling

Shivonne Gates

Research - PhD | Research Seminar Organiser
Room : Linguistics Lab, Arts Research Centre
s.m.gates@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Language and ethnicity, language variation, style, identity, sociophonetics

Matthew Hunt Linguistics MRes Student

Matthew Hunt

Research - MRes
m.hunt@hss17.qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, experimental linguistics, language and cognition, language and emotion and language in sport

Christian Ilbury

Research - PhD
c.l.ilbury@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics: language variation and change, digital language, the phonology/orthography interface, style, sociophonetics

Aleksandr Kalinin

Research - PhD
a.kalinin@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntactic Theory, Ellipsis, Syntax and Semantics of Conjunctions

Stamatina Katsiveli-Siachou linguistics phd student

Stamatina Katsiveli-Siachou

Research - PhD
s.katsiveli-siachou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociolinguistics; conversation analysis; gender and sexuality; language and identity; intersectionality; language and place; Greek national identity

Sarah Kirk-Brown linguistics MRes student

Sarah Kirk-Brown

Research - MRes
s.kirk-browne@hss17.qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Corpus linguistics, sociolinguistics

A picture of a person in a blue and white patterned shirt looking at the camera and smiling

Andy Law

Research - PhD
a.j.law@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociophonetics; queer linguistics; identity, particularly (trans)gender and sexuality; style; indexicality; intersectionality; perception; stereotypes

Scott Lewis Linguistics PhD student

Scott Lewis

Research - PhD
scott.lewis@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociophonetics

Maame Nikabs, linguistics PhD student profile picture

Maame Nikabs

Research - PhD
m.a.nikabs@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, media language, corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, ethnography of communication

Rosie Oxbury Linguistics PhD student

Rosie Oxbury

Research - PhD
r.f.oxbury@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : variationist sociolinguistics; language contact; youth language; multilingualism; discourse analysis

Elisa Passoni linguistics PhD student

Elisa Passoni

Research - PhD
e.passoni@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Phonetics, sociophonetics, L1 attrition, L2 acquisition, L2 teaching, bilingualism, indexicality, gender studies, statistics for Social Sciences.

Tom Rausch

Research - PhD
t.rausch@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Risk Communication, Health Communication, English as a Lingua Franca, Discourse Analysis

Melisa Rinaldi

Research - PhD
m.g.rinaldi@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative syntax; DP structure, particularly bare nouns; predication

Danniella Samos

Research - PhD
danniella.samos@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, health communication, discourse analysis, gender, sexuality, agency, corpus linguistics, conceptual metaphor

A picture of Louis Strange, a Linguistics MRes student

Louis Strange

Research - MRes
l.strange@hss17.qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics; linguistic landscapes; language ideology

Miriam Tenderini

Research - PhD
m.s.tenderini@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : relationship between language, music and emotion

Chen Wang

Research - PhD
chen.wang@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Chinese syntax, syntax-semantic interface, aspect system, event structure

Huiying (Dora) Wen linguistics PhD student

Huiying Wen

Research - PhD
huiying.wen@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : syntax and semantics of relative clauses, DE construction in Chinese, Chinese syntax

Panpan Yao

Research - PhD
p.yao@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : second language acquisition, comparative syntax, sentence processing, cognitive neuroscience

Adrian Yip linguistics PhD student

Wing Hei Adrian Yip

Research - PhD
w.yip@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : representation of gender and other identities, sport and professional communication, multimodality in media discourse, corpus linguistics and discourse analysis.

Nate Young

Research - PhD
nathan.j.young@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Language, social class, and ethnicity in Scandinavia

Hui Zhao

Research - PhD
Room : Linguistics Lab, Arts Research Centre
hui.zhao@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociophonetics, Perception, Language Attitude, Mandarin Chinese; Phonetic/Phonological variation, Bilingualism and Quantitative analysis

Return to top