menu

Department of Linguistics

Academic menu

Academic

David Adger

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.20
+44 (0)20 7882 8289
d.j.adger@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntactic Theory, Syntax and its interfaces, Linking syntactic and variationist approaches to variable phenomena.

Jenny Amos

Teaching Fellow in Linguistics

Hagit Borer

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.12
h.borer@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative syntax, morphosyntax and language acquisition

Jenny Cheshire

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.09A
+44 (0)20 7882 8293
j.l.cheshire@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics: Language Variation and Change, Language Contact, Conversational Narrative, Spoken Language: Syntactic and Discourse Structures.

Colleen Cotter

Reader in Media Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.14
+44 (0)20 7882 8294
c.m.cotter@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, Discourse analysis, Ethnography of communication, News media language, Endangered and lesser-used languages, Irish (Gaelic), Language and culture, Language and identity, Public/written discourse, Language planning and policy, Technology

Dr Esther de Leeuw

Senior Lecturer in Linguistics; MA Tutor for Linguistics; Careers Liaison Tutor for Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.09
+44 (0)207 882 5911
e.deleeuw@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : multilingualism, bilingualism, L1 attrition, L2 acquisition, executive control, phonetics, phonology, sociophonetics, prosody

Alex Drummond

Lecturer

Research interests : syntax, interfaces, binding and scope

Daniel Harbour

Reader in the Cognitive Science of Language
Room : ArtsOne 1.21
+44 (0)20 7882 5739
d.harbour@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Morphology, Semantics, Syntax, Understudied Languages

Jonathan Kasstan

Teaching Fellow in Sociolinguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.13

Research interests : Variationist sociolinguistics; sociophonetics; language death theory

Angi

Agnieszka Knas

Lecturer in Applied Linguistics
a.knas@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Electronically-mediated communication and multimodality in discourse. The discursive representation of physicality in text-messages.

Erez Levon

Reader in Sociolinguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.20
+44 (0)20 7882 8435
e.levon@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociolinguistics, gender/sexuality, indexicality, speech perception

Luisa Marti

Lecturer in Hispanic Linguistics
Room : Arts One 1.24
+44 (0)20 7882 8323
luisa.marti@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Semantics and its interfaces with morpho-syntax and pragmatics

Kathleen McCarthy

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : 1.13A Arts One
0207 882 7557
k.mccarthy@qmul.ac.uk

Fryni Panayidou

Teaching Fellow in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17A
+44 (0)20 7882 6637
f.panayidou@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntax of adjectives/nominal phrases, contact-induced syntactic change

Hazel Pearson

Academic Staff
Room : ArtsOne 1.10
h.pearson@qmul.ac.uk

Devyani Sharma

Professor of Sociolinguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17C
+44 (0)20 7882 8338
d.sharma@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, New varieties of English, Bilingualism, Variation, Syntax, Typology.

Linnaea Stockall

Senior Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17A
+44 (0)20 7882 5742

Research interests : Morphology, Lexical semantics, Event semantics, Psycholinguistics, Neurolinguistics

Coppe van Urk

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17B
c.vanurk@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Issues in minimalist syntax, with a particular focus on understudied languages.

Return to top